New Book explores African American History in Lowndes County

The newest book to explore Columbus history is called Escape from Mississippi: The Diary of a Black Boy Growing up Down South by Lee Wells.

Wells travels back to his childhood in 1940s and 1950s Columbus.  He writes about his family, local businesses, schools, entertainment, and much more.  His Diary recounts Columbus life from the viewpoint of its African American residents.

Below, Wells describes in his own words what his book is all about:

I’m going to take you to place’s and tell you about people that are unique to me. I will start in Columbus and go to Papa’s house and beyond.

Everybody shopped in Columbus the biggest little town that was the closest to most of the country people. The hitch lot’s, where everybody parked their horses, mules and wagons, for a fee. The Jewish proprietors in the little town of Columbus and a couple of black owed store’s. I will also tell you about the all white girls collage and about the County Fair.

I will take you from up town through Seventh Avenue along with the most popular street the most popular places. I will tell you about the churches and schools in Columbus. I also talk about the night life. We’ll go to Steen’s, a little cross Road Town this was my Town. I’ll tell you about my best friend I grew up with.

Tell you of the coal tin top house I was born in, only kerosene lamps, one working fireplace, to keep fourteen of us warm in winter. Tell you all about my sisters and brothers, the Uncles and Aunt’s, and cousins. I’ll tell you about friends of the family, people that worked for papa, and tell you about papa’s saw mill.

The Columbus-Lowndes Public Library has one copy available for check-out and one in the Local History Department.

To find out more about the book visit www.authorhouse.com.

Published in: on December 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lowndeslibarchives.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/new-book-explores-african-american-history-in-lowndes-county/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

